Photo: Frank Höhler




Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos

Representation: Austria
Contact: Dr. Horst Böhm | Stefan Fragner
Phone: +43-1-512 05 01-25



Chief Conductor designate Danish National Symphony Orchestra

Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos was born to German parents in Burgos (Spain) in 1933. He studied violin, piano, music theory and composition at the conservatoires in Bilbao and Madrid and then continued his studies at the Munich Hochschule für Musik with Kurt Eichorn (Conducting) and with Paul Hindemith and Harald Genzmer (Composition).

After serving as Principal Conductor of the Bilbao Symphony Orchestra, Frühbeck de Burgos was named Principal Conductor of the Orquesta Nacional de España in 1962. Whilst staying in this prestigious position for 17 years, he cemented his growing international reputation by assuming positions as General Music Director in Düsseldorf (1966-1971), Chief Conductor of the Montreal Symphony Orchestra (1975-1977), Principal Guest Conductor of the National Symphony Orchestra in Washington D.C. and of the Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra, of which he was named Honorary Conductor in 1991.

Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos then moved on to become Chief Conductor of the Wiener Symphoniker (1991-1996), Music Director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin (1992-1997), Chief Conductor of the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin (1994-2000), Chief Conductor of the Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della RAI, Torino (2001-2007) and Chief Conductor and Artistic Director of the Dresden Philharmonic (2004-2011).

As guest conductor Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos has been invited to nearly all of the world’s major orchestras, including the Berlin Philharmonic, the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra, the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, all the major American Orchestras and the five big London Orchestras. He also frequently guest conducts in Italy, Switzerland, France, Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Japan, as well as at opera houses and prestigious festivals. He has toured extensively throughout the world with many of these orchestras.

Frühbeck de Burgos’ worldwide reputation is also documented by more than 100 recordings (for EMI, Decca, Columbia, Collins Classics and others), many of which were highly acclaimed –  such as e.g. Carl Orffs Carmina Burana, Felix Mendelssohn-Bartoldys oratorios Elias and Paulus, and the complete works of Manuel de Falla.

For his artistic achievements Frühbeck de Burgos was awarded numerous honours and distinctions, including honorary doctorates from the Universities of Navarra (1994) and Burgos (1998), the Silver Medal for his services to the Republic of Austria (1996) and the Gold Medal from the International Gustav Mahler Society of Vienna (1996). He was honoured with the German Bundesverdienstkreuz in 2011, the Gold Medal for Fine Arts from the King of Spain in 2009 and was named »Conductor of the Year« by Musical America in 2011.

Starting with the 2012/13 season Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos will take up the position of Chief Conductor of the Danish National Symphony Orchestra.